John Bucyk Trophy

Moderator: SharksGM

Post Reply
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 6181
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:21 pm

John Bucyk Trophy

Post by SharksGM »

The John Bucyk Trophy was awarded for the first time in 2010. Voted by the General Managers, it is given out to the player that had the most unexpected impact on his team throughout the year.

John Paul Bucyk had a marathon career of 23 years, almost all of which was spent with the Boston Bruins. He was nicknamed "the Chief" after a Boston sports cartoonist mistook him for a native Canadian because of his dark features. Bucyk loved the nickname and it stuck. He grew up in Edmonton, Alberta, and played Junior A hockey on the Edmonton Oil Kings with his older brother Bill, who later played in the Western Hockey League but never made it to the NHL. For the next three seasons, Bucyk shifted back and forth between the Detroit Red Wings and the Oil Kings. Finally, in 1954, he was "discovered" in an Oil Kings game by Boston general manager Lynn Patrick, but it would still be three more years before he actually put on a Bruins jersey. In 1957 Boston obtained Bucyk from Detroit in a trade for Terry Sawchuk. A member of the so-called Uke Line in Boston with fellow Ukrainian-Canadians Bronco Horvath and Vic Stasiuk, Bucyk set an astounding number of Bruins records (some of which have now been surpassed by Ray Bourque) - for the most seasons (21), the most games (1,436), the most goals (545), the most assists (794) and the most points (1,339). Bucyk's seasonal scoring totals got better as he got older. Unfortunately, his career almost ended when he was in his mid-30s because of a back injury. From then on he had to wear a harness, but he continued to play left wing well into his forties. It wasn't the only extra bit of equipment he wore, either. Bucyk also sported a special medallion for good luck that four of his teammates gave him after his 500th goal. In 1976, as he neared the end of his playing career, Bucyk was aware that his age was showing. But it didn't seem to be affecting his game as he continued his streak of 10 straight seasons of more than 20 goals. Bucyk ended his career with the Bruins as the fourth-leading scorer in NHL history at the time.
2009-2010 Winner: Martin Hanzal (Phoenix Coyotes)
2010-2011 Winner: Patrik Berglund (St.Louis Blues)
2011-2012 Winner: Colin Wilson (Nashville Predators)
2012-2013 Winner: Tomas Filippi (Calgary Flames)
2013-2014 Winner: Jordan Caron (Boston Bruins)

2010: Hanzal wins the inaugural award, with 13 votes after an amazing 87 point, +5 season in 82 GP. Radek Bonk (NSH, 3 votes) and Cory Stillman (NYR, 2 votes) were a distant 2nd and 3rd.
2011: Berglund wins with 7 votes, after remarkable totals of 83 points and +8 in 82 GP. Mark Streit (CGY, 4 votes) and Dustin Tokarski (TB, 2 votes) placed 2nd and 3rd.
2012: Wilson extends the streak of forward wins with 7 votes and 30 voting points, putting up 78 points and +17 in 82 games. Michael Frolik (FLA, 8 votes, 29 points) cries after narrowly losing out on this award and the Art Ross; Evan Oberg (VAN, 12 points) finishes 3rd.
2013: Filippi seals another vote for forwards with 5 1st place votes and 16 points, after 66 points and +9 in 78 GP in his second full season. Tyler Cuma (NJ, 1 1st, 9 pts) and Dalton Smith (TB, 1 1st, 5 pts) bring up the rear.
2014: Caron continues the trend with 5 1sts and 20 points, capping a 29G, 72P season (top team scorer), +4 and 68.4 FO% in 82GP. Chad Kolarik (DAL) and Carl Sneep (NJ) each trailed with 2 1sts and 8 pts.

Post Reply

Return to “EHEC Awards”